• Slide home 4
  • Slide home 3
  • Slide home 2
  • Slide home 1
Martine Becker

Dear Readers,

In this colourful newsletter, some of you will find your photo or your name mentioned, while others will hopefully be inspired to participate in our activities which bring to life the wine and food culture of Alsace. Alsace wines are always memorable, whether served young at a commented tasting or, after careful ageing in our unique Oenothèque wine library, selected to match a simple buffet or to illustrate a gastronomic theme or to be served at a ceremonial banquet or gala event…

Confirmed lovers of fine wine, but increasingly more young people keen to learn, attend our sell-out Chapters, wine and food themed evenings and tastings of older vintages at the Château:  in the caveau, the chapter room or the Schwendi ballroom. Long may this continue, for the Confrérie St-Etienne to be the flagship for Alsace wines, in a multi-lingual atmosphere where 4 languages are spoken : Alsatian, French, German and English (and some of us also speak Italian, Spanish or Japanese).

Modern and outward-looking, we participated in the French annual national heritage weekend by opening our Château to the general public, not only to those interested in historic buildings but also those intrigued to visit our home base and to discover our activities… some people had thought the Confrérie must be a secret, closed society !

To be elected Grand Maître is of course a rare honour for a woman, and I devoted myself fully to the cause of what is as you know one of the oldest wine guilds in France. Succeeding Pascal Schultz and preceding Jean-Louis Vézien, my 10 months in office were full of activity and responsibility, in which I was greatly aided by the Major, Ignace Kuehn, by the advice of our Chancellor and past and future Grands Maîtres, by all the volunteers and by the full-time team led by Eric Fargeas.

Finally, I must thank our Saints Etienne, Urban and Vincent who kept a watchful eye on this young apprentice in the world of Alsace wine, who talked her way aboard in 1978 and ended up as captain of the flagship in 2018… without having to suffer a mutiny on board !

Martine BECKER

Grand Maître 2018

• Slide home 4
  • Slide home 3
  • Slide home 2
  • Slide home 1
Martine Becker

Très chers lecteurs,

Dans cette lettre tout en couleur, vous allez pour certains, retrouver votre nom, votre photo et pour d’autres, elle a pour but de vous donner envie de venir participer à l’art de vivre des épicuriens alsaciens. Le vin d’Alsace, servi jeune pour une dégustation commentée ou, sigillé et mur, tiré de l’oenothèque, seul ou associé à des amuses bouches, à des thématiques gustatives, servi simple­ment ou religieusement lors de soirée de gala…

De plus en plus de connaisseurs émérites, d’amateurs lo­caux de soirées « vins et mets » et de fins palais, viennent pour assister aux chapitres et aux soirées organisées : vins anciens, au caveau, dans la salle capitulaire ou Schwendi. Il faut absolument garder cette dynamique qui nous fait devenir, le rendez-vous incontournable des vins d’Alsace, dans une ambiance polyglotte (puisque 4 langues sont de rigueur : l’Alsacien, le français, l’anglais et l’Allemand et que certains confrères parlent italien, espagnol et japonais).

Intégrer la modernité active, grâce à notre 1ere Porte ouverte pour la journée du patrimoine, qui a permis d’attiser les curio­sités des amateurs de vieilles pierres et d’architecture, mais a aussi ouvert notre maison que certains croyaient close ou sectaire, au grand public.

Avoir été choisie pour être Grand Maître, est bien sur un honneur rare pour une femme. J’ai donc été toute dévouée à cette institution, qui je le rappelle est l’une des plus ancienne de France. Succédant à Pascal Schlutz et précédent Jean Louis Vezien pour 10 mois d’activité et de responsabilité, épaulée par le Major Ignace Kuehn, conseillée par le Chancelier Re­ceveur et tous les anciens et futurs Grands Maîtres, plus les bénévoles et l’équipe permanente avec à sa tête Eric Fargeas.

Enfin je remercie nos saint Etienne, Urbain & Vincent qui ont conjuré le sort d’une jeune femme apprentie dans le monde du vin d’Alsace, embarquée à sa demande en 1978, pour finir par commander le navire amiral en 2018, sans qu’il n’y ait eu de mutinerie à bord !!

Martine BECKER

Grand Maître 2018

« Bois du vin, sois bon comme lui » Jean RICHEPIN